Skip to content
Jeffrey Bentley, Steve Metzler and friends at Philanthropy Midwest Conference 2005

Our History

In the early 1970's, a group of fundraisers established a Greater Kansas City chapter of what was then known as the National Society of Fund Raising Executives, now the Association of Fundraising Professionals. When the chapter transitioned a few years later, several of the founders established a new group in 1976 which they named the Greater Kansas City Council on Philanthropy. The initial goal was to provide a networking and educational venue for fundraisers.

In the early years, the Council held meetings and events for fundraisers to learn and network with peers. As the need grew among others in the nonprofit community to connect to training, resources and networking opportunities, the Council broadened its programs and services to serve them.

This expansion of services has evolved over the years to become the Nonprofit Connect that you know todayWe now serve over 7,000 members from over 800 organizations in Kansas City.

Our Milestones

1983     Telephone Jobline established

1985     First Philanthropy Awards Luncheon

1991     Voice of Philanthropy Newsletter distributed

1993     First Philanthropy Midwest Conference

1995     Website created with Foundation Directory

1999     Nonprofit Resource Directory distributed

2001     Clearinghouse for Midcontinent Foundations merges with the Council

2003     First Philly Awards

2004     First full-time Executive Director hired

2006     First Nonprofit Job Fair

2007     First Nonprofit Shadow Day

2008     Nonprofit Communications Council and Community Association of Nonprofit Business Professionals fold into the Council

2008     Council on Philanthropy rebrands to become Nonprofit Connect: Network. Learn. Grow.

2010     Volunteer Center of Johnson County (VCJC) merges into Nonprofit Connect

2011     Aim Above the Mark Capital Campaign raises over $500,000

2012     Nonprofit Connect moves to current office space in KCPT Building

2014     Inaugural Executive Director Institute

2017     eLearning Center launched

Board Presidents

Susan Melton
Terrence Ward
Sherri Lozano
Patrick Sallee
Laurie McCormack
Bruce A. Scott
Tondee Lutterman
Valerie Nicholson-Watson

Cynthia A. Randazzo
Jennifer B. Furla
James T. Barry
Mark Litzler
Phillip J. Hanson
Pam Sibert
Barbara Lebedun
Rebecca A. Morrison
Wendy D. Doyle
Susan Melton

Michael C. Tarry
Gene Rietfors
James S. Kanki
William Niedt
Jessie A. Fuller
Daniel J. Bradbury
Al Barton & Carol Van Natta
Jeffrey D. Byrne
Cynthia A. Randazzo

Michael Greene
John A. Shehane
Roy Morrill
Donald Brackhahn
James N. Jeffrey
T. Henry Stafford
Jane White Brown